Time Trial Categories

We offer competition categories for male and female cyclists and paracyclists of all ages: U13, U15, U17, U19, Senior (19-29), Veteran (30-39), and Masters in 5-year age groups from 40 to 80+.

New for 2019, we are continuing the traditional aerodynamic (open) class, and adding a non-aerodynamic (Eddy Merckx) class for ages 19 to 80+, to encourage participation and competition among cyclists, who do not wish pursue the aerodynamic arms race entailed in the open, aerodynamic class. U19 riders will compete in accordance with Cycling BC young rider equipment rules.

The fastest competitor in each age/gender/class category with at least 3 time trial times recorded is recognized with an award at the end of the season at our Awards Banquet.

The aerodynamic category also has trophies for Fastest Female and Male, the Fastest Master (40-59) Female and Male, and Fastest Grand Master (60+) Female and Male.

The restrictions for the Eddy Merckx, non-aerodynamic class are:

  • Standard road bikes with standard drop handlebars, no aero bars or bull horns, no disc wheels, wheel covers, or tri-spoke wheels, and no aero time trial helmets.